M. Phil./Ph.D.Programme Unit



The executive authority of conducting M.Phil./Ph.D. programme is the Board of Advanced Studies which is chaired by the vice-Chancellor of the University.

However, the programme runs under the direct supervision of Pro Vice-Chancellor of the Universty. Five Academic Groups are formed to have better coordination and smooth functioning of the programmes. Each Academic Group has its own office headed by a Chairman appointed by the Vice-Chancellor from among the teachers of the related disciplines of a group. The office of the Academic Group renders academic and administrative support to the research fellows of the member disciplines of the Group. The following Table shows the Academic Groups and their related disciplines:

Academic Groups

Related Disciplines

Chairman of the

Academic Group

Arts Bengali, English, Philosophy, History, Islamic History and Culture, Islamic Studies, Arabic, Pali and Sanskrit  
Social Science Economics, Political Science, Sociology, Social Work, Anthropology, Public Administration, and Home Economics  
Natural Science Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Statistics  
Life and Earth Science Zoology, Botany, Psychology, Geography, Soil Science  
Business Studies Management, Accounting, Marketing, Finance and Banking  

Eligibility for Admission and Fellowship

The programme starts in January and generally advertisement for admission is circulated during September-November. Persons below 40 years of age and having excellent result in Graduation and Post Graduation degrees can apply for this programme. However, only teachers of the affiliated colleges are eligible for getting fellowship.

Duration of the Programme

The duration for M.Phil. degree is 2 years, which includes one year course work at the beginning and dissertation work at the end. The duration for Ph.D. degree is 3 years. Candidates having M.Phil./ M.S. degree are eligible to be enrolled in Ph. D. course and they are exempted from undergoing coursework. But, Ph. D. fellows who do not have M.Phil./M.S. degree must complete a one year course work at the beginning.

Coursework and Thesis Supervision

The coursework is of one year duration and the research fellows are required to appear at an examination of 300 marks (written-200 and viva voce-100) at the end of the year. Successful candidates are allowed to go for dissertation work. Senior faculty members of National University and scholars from other public universities and research institutions act as resource persons for coursework and for supervision of dissertation work. Research fellows have the liberty to choose supervisor for their research work from public universities and research institutions approved by the National University.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.